ABOUT

This artist rips into the heart. 

Bayerisches Fernsehen, Puzzle

Alina Manoukian presents old Armenian folk songs with such an intensity that it sends shivers down the spine of the audience with the very first note. 

Göttingen Tageblatt, Birgit Nipkau

(...) as the young singer is gifted by so many talents - able to be dreamy, yet also lascivious, charming and in any case endearing, and blessed with a multifaceted voice, making the concert unforgettable. 

Badische Zeitung, Martina David-Wenk

The delicate yet powerful voice finds its way into the heart and touches you with the very first sound. A wonderful experience of profound meaning and inwardness.“ 

Regionalzeitung Weil am Rhein,
Michaela Wassmer

We do not understand, yet feel: this is how longing must sound like in Armenian. 

ARD Kulturtipps – Mittagsmagazin

Alina Manoukian crosses borders.

A child of Armenian parents, she came to Germany from Iran at a young age. Armenian culture was ever-present, yet receded with time into a background of language, melodies and rituals. Singing and music has always been part of her life. 

After growing up in Hamburg, she went to study acting at the University of Arts in Berlin (UdK). For her own theater production at the Deutsches Theater Göttingen, she began searching for her roots. And found a part of home in the Armenian music of her childhood. She collected songs within her family and a circle

of friends and acquaintances. A recorder in her pocket, she travelled to Armenia and collected whatever she heard. 

From these finds, and in collaboration with first the guitarist Fred Kerkmann and later Sebastian Albert, she created her very own aesthetic. By intimately working on the traditional material, they searched for a way to bridge the old melodies and modern Western music culture.


She gave her record release concert at a sold-out Ballhaus Naunynstrasse in Berlin. It was recorded by the Bavarian state television (Br TV). The universal language of poetry and longing thrilled the audience, among others at the Berlin Maxim Gorki Theatre, the Hans Otto Theatre in Potsdam and the Thalia Theatre in Hamburg. 

With her music, she performs in theatres and concert halls, always in search for new encounters with these old melodies.

 

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Spotify - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Soundcloud - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2019 by Alina Manoukian. All Rights Reserved.

ABOUT

Hier trifft eine Künstlerin mitten ins Herz.

Bayerisches Fernsehen, Puzzle

Alina Manoukian präsentiert die alten armenischen Volkslieder mit solcher Intensität, dass einem als Zuschauer schon nach den ersten Tönen Gänsehaut überkommt. 

Göttingen Tageblatt, Birgit Nipkau

(...) weil die junge Sängerin über so viele Talente verfügt- sowohl verträumt, als laziv sein kann, charmant und liebenswert auf jeden Fall und mit einer facettenreichen Stimme gesegnet ist, die das Konzert so unvergessen macht.

Badische Zeitung, Martina David-Wenk

Die zarte und dennoch kraftvolle Stimme bahnt sich ihren Weg und berührt nach den ersten Klängen. Ein wunderbares Erlebnis von eindrücklicher Tiefe und Innerlichkeit.

Regionalzeitung Weil am Rhein,
Michaela Wassmer

Wir verstehen nichts, aber begreifen: So muss Sehnsucht auf Armenisch klingen.  

ARD  Kulturtipps – Mittagsmagazin

Alina Manoukian ist Grenzgängerin zwischen den Welten. Als Kind armenischer Eltern kam sie aus dem Iran nach Deutschland. Die armenische Kultur war gegenwärtig, aber trat mit der Zeit zurück in einen Hintergrund aus Sprache, Melodien, Ritualen. Gesungen hat sie schon immer, Musik ist Teil ihres Lebens.

 

In Hamburg aufgewachsen, studierte sie später Schauspiel an der Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin. Für eine Eigeninszenierung am Deutschen Theater Göttingen begann sie nach ihren Wurzeln zu suchen. Und entdeckte ein Stückchen Heimat in der armenischen Musik ihrer Kindheit wieder. Sie sammelte Lieder in ihrer Familie, im Bekanntenkreis, fuhr mit einem Tonbandgerät in der Tasche nach Armenien und trug zusammen, was sie hörte.

 

Aus diesen Fundstücken kreierte sie zunächst gemeinsam mit dem Gitarristen Fred Kerkmann und anschließend zusammen mit Sebastian Albert eine ganz persönliche Ästhetik.  Mit ihrer unmittelbaren und intimen Bearbeitung des traditionellen Materials suchen sie einen Brückenschlag zwischen den alten Melodien und moderner westlicher Musikkultur.

 

Ihr Auftaktkonzert zum Debütalbum gab sie im ausverkauften Berliner Ballhaus Naunynstrasse, aufgezeichnet vom Bayerischen Fernsehen. Die universale Sprache der Poesie und Sehnsucht begeisterte das Publikum - unter anderem im Berliner Maxim Gorki Theater, im Potsdamer Hans Otto Theater und im Hamburger Thalia Theater.

 

Mit ihrer Musik tritt sie in Theatern und Konzerträumen auf, immer auf der Suche nach neuen Begenungen mit diesen alten Melodien.

 

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Spotify - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Soundcloud - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2019 by Alina Manoukian. All Rights Reserved.